**** DONE: Revell P-61A 1/48 scale, Nocturnal Nemesis, Night Fighter GB.

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Night Fighter Nut

Master Sergeant
Nov 3, 2009
Plano Texas
User Name: Night Fighter Nut.
Name: Bill
Catagory 2 Intermediate.
Model: P-61A
Scale: 1:48
Manufacturer: Revell
After Market: Eduard photo etch interior and exterior, Zotz decals, True Details resin wheels,Quick boost gun set, and some scratch building.

This is my very first attempt at a group build. I'm looking to build Nocturnal Nemesis, a P-61A of the 421st NFS. Flown by Lt. Dave T. Corts. This plane was at Tacloban, Leyte in November of 1944. I've been fortunate enough to find a few pictures of this bird and will be the first time I paint a widow in the olive color scheme. In the second photo I have another kit. Since I don't like to waste parts I also intend to build another Widow on a separate thread. I still believe I'm just a beginner but with all the detail I will be attempting, and with some practice, I hope to do well.

Attachments

• 28Oct2010 026.jpg
    28Oct2010 026.jpg
    80.7 KB · Views: 504
  • 28Oct2010 027.jpg
    28Oct2010 027.jpg
    66.4 KB · Views: 577
Last edited by a moderator:
Nice one Bill, looks like this is going to be an interesting GB with some pretty funky stuff in it so far

Thanks... I agree, lots of interesting planes in this GB. I have another night fighter I'm saving for the Eastern Front GB. The Pe3 Bis... :) A little more about this plane. Picked this up during a web search. :) Credited with one confirmed (during night action) - It was a Japanese bomber that was not directly shot down by them, but by another Japanese aircraft that was firing at them, missing and hitting one of their own aircraft, knocking it down!

Last edited:
Yeah it is a funky-looking plane. Good choice, and cool aftermarket. Looking forward to the build!