Hendon 1936

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

doglove2005

Airman
Jul 5, 2009
Hi, all, (this is my first try to this forum, so I am sorry if I have any mistakes/rudeness)

I have interest with Hendon Flying Display 1936 and have some questions. I have only One photo of it at P.64 of "The Bristol BLENHEIM A complete history" by G.Warner.
I am very happy if you will give me some suggestions.
My first question is the colour of Hampden K4240. M.Postlethwaite wrote
…The gross green paint and the "wallpapered" nose glazing hardly helped to improve its natural good looks…. in "Hampden squadrons of World War II: in focus" .
What type of "GREEN" was it? Light green? Dark green? Brilliant green?
And what colour was the "wallpaper"? Please give me your ideas, hopefully with colour names from:
JPS MODELL - British Colors
Color Reference Charts -  United Kingdom
British WW2 colors
and so on.
Second question. What is a small aircraft (only wing and fuselage?) between Hampden and Lysander?
The last ask. Are there any books that have many photos of Hendon 1936? Is "Flying at Hendon" by Clive R. Smith have many photos?

Thank you.

My first question is the colour of Hampden K4240. M.Postlethwaite wrote
…The gross green paint and the "wallpapered" nose glazing hardly helped to improve its natural good looks…. in "Hampden squadrons of World War II: in focus" .
What type of "GREEN" was it? Light green? Dark green? Brilliant green?
And what colour was the "wallpaper"? Please give me your ideas

Hi "doglove" and welcome to the forum. Any chance of scanning and uploading the Hendon 1936 line-up photo to identify the "small aircraft?"

According to a 1986 Aeroplane Monthly article, K4240 had the nose panelling covered with aluminium sheeting ("wallpapered") to stop the public at Hendon from peering into the 'secret' bomber and the paintwork was described as "glossy grey-green". Sorry I can't be of any more help.