structural differences between Naval f-15 and Air Force f-15 (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

flyingvic

Recruit
Oct 9, 2011
I am trying to do some research on the structural differences between an f-15 for the Navy and the Air Force. I am a flight student at Elizabeth City State University; doing a presentation on this. The basic information I have so far is that an f-15 for the Navy has to be lighter and stronger than one for the Air Force due to the hard landings on a carrier. If anyone can give just a little bit of insight into this, it would greatly help....the Boeing website and archives do not really help nor give more than basic specifications.

Naval F15's?..., maybe a few touch and goes at Pauxtant River, on a runway marked to the same size of a carriers deck of 60's/70's era, but I'm pretty sure there hasn't ever been a proper 'navalised' Eagle...

Prey tell, could you tell where you heard this Naval Eagle info, and might you be getting mixed up with the navalised F-111 debacle/scandle...

I was at an air show talking to a gentlemen from the navy. I asked if they use the f-35 for the navy. he responded saying that the f-35 would have to be redesigned for the navy. I assumed that this was done for the f-15 already.

so they have only made slight modifications for an f-15 to land on a carrier? such as the landing hook.

The F-15 was never intended as a naval fighter. The F-35 has 3 versions being developed for the Navy, Air Force and Marines.

The landing hook is not for naval use, its is for emmergency runway use should the brakes fail - it's held in up position by an explosive bolt - a one use only hook. F-35 is getting there, but imho, its a definate waste of money for vtol versions - it'll be as useful as a Yak-38 Forger was vs. Harrier II - should make Harrier III instead...