New player questions

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

yawny

Recruit
May 6, 2009
Hi, i'm new to IL-2, i just got it the other day. My main question is, how should i set the game up? What mods/patches should i use to get the full potential out of the game?

Also, im running on a highish-end Vista PC and i want to get absolute maximum graphics out of it, but cant seem to figure out how to edit the config file right. does anyone know what absolute max settings are

Much appreciation

Yawny

Just forget the pre-set GFX cards in the hardware setuplist. Go for custom and put everything on what you can find, get the max resolution (screen) of your PC and add some extra adjustments in the files (some with shaders on 2/3 or higher, its been mention in skin topic, as i asked the same :p) And play lol!

Hi and Welcome!!

Get all the mods and install them all :) :) improves the sim 10000000 tiimes!!. dont see it as mods, but rather as a massive update patch :)
especially AI mod and 6-DOF.

for setting up your sim, visit here:Mission4Today › Downloads › IL-2 Shturmovik Stab Version 6.3

IL-2 Sturmovik: 1946. It provides easy configuration of documented and undocumented features within the game.

MAIN FEATURES

o Display Historically correct Luftwaffe and Finnish aircraft markings.
o Display authentic German and Finnish awards/medals.
o Use alternate Luftwaffe ranks in Campaigns.
o Easily modify game options that cannot be modified in the game GUI.
o Record your own thoughts and comments in Campaigns in a free format War Diary.
o Display more detailed pre-mission briefings for Campaign missions in the War Diary.

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

o Windows 98, Windows Me, Windows 2000 Professional, Windows XP
o Internet Explorer 5.01 or greater
o IL-2 Sturmovik (International and Russian editions) patched to version 1.2
o IL-2 Sturmovik: Forgotten Battles (International and Russian editions) patched to version 1.22