Earhart's Plane Found?! (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Would it be usual to find a piece of aircraft skin that has been completely detached from it's underlying structure like this ? I can't think of how it might happen unless a human agent removed the rivets. If they did, they made very neat job of it. Given the difficulty of taking all those rivets out, why would anyone bother ?

I'm no expert on airframe construction or aviation archaeology though, not by a long way.

Even if it is a part of the relevant aeroplane where's the rest of it? Who's to say that piece hasn't washed up on this reef hundreds of miles from where the aeroplane was lost? Coconuts wash up on the English coast from time to time but nobody thinks they grew here. There are palms that can survive here but the coconut isn't one of them.

I'd need some more convincing that it is a part of Earhart's aeroplane and even more that it is proof of where she went down.

Cheers

Steve

There was a good deal of evidence found over the decades that do indicate an aircraft was there at one time. In the late 30's (about 1938 or 1939), a colony was established on the island and aparently, the islanders found and used a good deal of aircraft aluminum from some source. The remains of which, where found in the abandoned village later on.

There was also the campsite found on the far end of the island with artifacts that indicate a castaway was subsiting on shellfish, birds and fish for a while, using a damaged pocketknife and stones as cooking utinsils and bottles were found in the campfire pit that show signs of being used to boil water.

Near the campsite, there was also the skeleton of what appeared to be a tall female of European traits found near some artifacts, which had appeared to have been scavanged thoroughly by the large crabs that inhabit the island.