1/48th Testors U-2C (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

This is only my second or third "new thread", so cut me some slack . . . . . .

Okay, I'm going to do a start-to-finish build on the venerable Testors 1/48th U-2C kit. For those of you who don't know, the Testors kit is actually an old Hawk plastic kit originally made in the '60's, not too long after the real U-2 first went operational. The kit itself has held up quite well through the years, though it appears somewhat primitive compared to today's super-detailed kits; there are a total of only 30 or 40 parts to the kit, but it should end up looking nice.

Just to warn you, I build strictly OOB; I'm not very good at scratch-building and super-detailing and weathering, so don't expect too much. Unfortunately, I'd already started building the model a few weeks ago, so it won't be a true start-to-finish model, so I can't show you a "before" picture. However, I can show you a picture of what the parts used to look like.

tes_u-2a_part1.jpg
tes_u-2a_part3.jpg

tes_u-2c_part1.jpg

I've owned three of these kits over the years, so what I found when I dug the kit out of my pile was a box full of miscellaneous U-2 parts, some still attached to the sprue, others detached and floating around in the box, and still others that had already been painted and glued together back in the '80's; I'm basically building one complete U-2 out of the parts from 3 kits.