Production Line Details Systems

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

csteimel47591

Airman
Oct 17, 2011
Greetings,
I'm a mechanical engineer who is heavily involved in the setup and management of manufacturing plants. Even with today's technology it can be a real job to get things hammered out on the production lines. I've always taken great interest in WW2 and the incredible feats of that time period.

Furthermore, I've always been amazed by the aircraft production lines they setup in those times. I'm always looking for information on the manufacturing systems they used (index cards) and how they got things working with just paper--pen technology. Especially when you look at the hundreds of thousands of individual components that go into a single bomber.

I'm looking for details information on the production of aircraft in WWII. Such specific questions as these:

How did they track such a vast array of components and minimize errors?
What type of inventory system did they use?
How were the aircraft production lines setup on a station by station basis?
How many individuals were in each "cell" ?

Any sources, documents or input will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,

CS

There's a good over view of the Messeschmitt Regensburg production/assembly line in Peter Schmoll's 'Nest of Eagles',around pp55,56,57.
Cheers
Steve

Hi CS;

Maybe I can give you some information.

I worked in aircraft manufacturing for a number of years. I worked on the P-3, L1011 and B-2 production lines. For the most part the process is pretty similar between manufacturers and differ little from the way things were set up during WW2.