Allied Planes Of WWI (2 Viewers)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

GermansRGeniuses

Tech Sergeant
Dec 26, 2003
www.barryboys.co.uk
im kinda new to this topic and area of time, but i do know this: the Re.5 or whatever its called (its british and one of the best fighters of WWI if that helps anyone remember) could fire its gun vertically! this was done by putting the gun in reloading position and as long as you had ammo in the clip you could shoot it vertically!

lots of WWI planes could do that, they tried to counter the problem of firing a gun forward without hitting the prop., so they just mounted a gun on the top wing. it was hard to aim accuratly though....................

Germans R Geniuses,

You are thinking of the SE5A

se5a.jpg

Source http://www.rafmuseum.org.uk/royal-aircraft-factory-se5a.htm

Kiwimac

the lancaster kicks ass said:
lots of WWI planes could do that, they tried to counter the problem of firing a gun forward without hitting the prop., so they just mounted a gun on the top wing. it was hard to aim accuratly though....................

My fav plane of WW1 was the Airco DH.2 :ramboface:

It was a single seat bi-plane fighter with the propellar situated at the back of the plane rather than the front hence the name 'pusher' because the engine pushed the plane along rather than pulling it - this gave the pilot a clearer vision from the cockpit and allowed his guns to fire more effectively rather than firing through the Prop (which i'm convinced attributed to so many guns jamming in aircraft during WW1 :rolleyes: - i know they were poorly made but i still think that the device that allowed them to fire through the propellar hampered the machine guns effectiveness)