HELP A NEWBIE - FW 190's on Drive to Leningrad (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

sopwith21

Recruit
Feb 2, 2024
Greetings to all, newbie here. I am trying to understand the role that the FW 190 played in the north column (specifically) of Operation Barbarossa. It appears that they were first introduced there with JG 51 in September of 1942 and played a small part in the siege of Leningrad. Were there other FW 190 units in the north column? Perhaps later? How did they fare and who were their best scorers?

If anyone can provide a good online source for the FW 190's role in the northern invasion column against the USSR, or post your own knowledge here, I would appreciate it very much. Thank you.

Welcome. I am sure somebody will come a long shortly with some info. Mind you it is a biggish question.

Greetings to all, newbie here. I am trying to understand the role that the FW 190 played in the north column (specifically) of Operation Barbarossa. It appears that they were first introduced there with JG 51 in September of 1942 and played a small part in the siege of Leningrad. Were there other FW 190 units in the north column? Perhaps later? How did they fare and who were their best scorers?

If anyone can provide a good online source for the FW 190's role in the northern invasion column against the USSR, or post your own knowledge here, I would appreciate it very much. Thank you.
Hi S sopwith21 and wellcome to the forum.

The Fw 190 had no part in Operation Barbarossa. This was the initial assault of the USSR from June 22nd 1941. By that time the 190 was not even operational in the west, so no way that any unit with the 190 participed in the invasion.

I/JG 51 was redeployed to the northern sector of the eastern on September 6th 1942 after training in it, as you said, and was the first unit to use it in the east. By then, the front in Leningrad was largely static.